Lady Cyclones honored by state legislature for winning Class AA Championship

John Thompson • May 21, 2014 at 9:11 AM

ELIZABETHTON — The Elizabethton High School Lady Cyclones basketball team received more recognition on Tuesday for winning the state Class AA Championship, the latest one coming from the state legislature.

The team has already been honored by the Elizabethton City School Board, the Elizabethton City Council and the Carter County Commission. The young women were able to attend those sessions to receive the official recognition.

The team was not able to be in Nashville when the Senate Joint Resolution 709 was unanimously adopted by the General Assembly, so Sen. Rusty Crowe and Rep. Kent Williams brought copies of the resolution home to the team.

Crowe and Williams presented a large framed copy of the resolution for display in the school. The legislators presented it to Coach Lynn Dugger and lone senior player Sarah Bradley. Williams said fellow Carter County representative Timothy Hill was also a signer of the resolution.

Crowe and Williams also brought additional copies of the elaborately prepared resolution for presentation to each player and coach.

Williams told the team that he was only able to watch them play a few times during the season because the General Assembly was in session. He said the state championship tournament was closely followed on the floor of the House, with scores announced during the games.

“I was extremely proud when they annouced the score on the House floor after they built up a huge lead and hung on to defeat Knox Fulton 66-52 for the championship,” Williams said.

He was also proud of the resolution, especially the section that read: “Whereas, the members of the Elizabethton High School Lady Cyclones basketball team proved themselves to be the fiercest of competitors and, as such, deserving of the highest regard.”

Crowe also expressed strong support. “This is the first women’s team from the Tri-Cities to ever win the championship,” he said. Crowe also said it was the first major-sport state championship for Elizabethton High School since the 1938 football team.

The resolution went on to say “whereas, this General Assembly finds it appropriate to pause in its deliberations to acknowledge and applaud the members of the Elizabethton High School Lady Cyclones basketball team for their outstanding championship performance and for serving as examples of the exceptional quality of the youth of Tennessee.”

Each team member — Kayla Marosites, Kelci Marosites, Ashley Depew, Autumn Lyon, Melenda Perry, Emily Kiser, Sarah Robinson, Haley Burleson, Emily Schubert, Sarah Bradley, Loran Campbell, Bailey Montgomery, Kyra McCrary, Brittany Campbell, Megan Pietrowski, Linda Espino and Caitlin Gardner — was mentioned by name in the resolution and each was present when Crowe and Williams presented the resolution to the team and school.

Recommended for You

    Johnson City Press Videos