Earnhardt's son finds success outside of sports

Jeff Birchfield • Feb 10, 2013 at 10:43 PM

Kerry Earnhardt, the eldest son of seven-time NASCAR champion Dale Earnhardt, is finding success outside of auto racing.

The Earnhardt Collection, a signature series of homes designed by Kerry and his wife Rene’ in collaboration with Schumacher Homes, earned two gold awards at the 2013 International Builders Show in Las Vegas.

The collection’s Blue Ridge Floor plan earned the award for Best Architectural Design. It also won the category of Best Special Promotion for its work in the Earnhardt Collection’s grand opening last year. The awards were presented by the National Sales and Marketing Council of the National Association of Home Builders.

Earnhardt, who physically resembles his late father more than his famous half-brother, began racing in 1992 at the local level. He was Hickory Motor Speedway Rookie of the Year in 1994 and made his NASCAR Nationwide Series debut in 1998.

He made his Sprint Cup debut at Michigan in 2000, racing against his father and brother.

From 1998-2009, he competed in seven Sprint Cup races, 72 Nationwide Series races and 27 Truck Series races. His only full season of competition was 2002 in the Nationwide Series, highlighted by a runner-up finish to Jeff Burton at Kansas.

Earnhardt, 43, has focused on other interests in recent years as well as helping promote his son’s racing career.

Kerry’s son, Jeffrey, is a current NASCAR Nationwide Series driver as well as a Mixed Martial Arts competitor.

Jeffrey Earnhardt made six starts in the Nationwide Series last season, but recently announced plans to run the full 2013 schedule.To date, his best finish in major NASCAR competition is a seventh-place at the 2011 season-opening Truck Series race at Daytona.


The Sprint Cup season opens this Saturday night with the Sprint Unlimited (formerly Budweiser Shootout) at Daytona International Speedway.

Last year, Kyle Busch made two incredible saves, then edged Tony Stewart in the closest finish in the race’s history.

Originally called the Busch Clash, Buddy Baker won the inaugural race for the previous season’s pole winners in 1979. Five times, the winner of the race has gone on to win the Daytona 500, the first was Bobby Allison in 1982 and the last was Dale Jarrett in 2000.

Dale Earnhardt won a record six Shootouts. Among active drivers, Stewart is a three-time race winner. Jeff Gordon, Kevin Harvick and Dale Earnhardt Jr. are two-time winners.


Before racing legends Rusty Wallace, Herb Thomas, Cotton Owens, Leonard Wood and Buck Baker were inducted into the NASCAR Hall of Fame this past Friday night, the presentation of the inaugural Squier-Hall Award for NASCAR Media Excellence, was awarded to namesakes Ken Squier and Barney Hall.

Squier, who was recently inducted into the NMPA (National Motorsports Press Association) Hall of Fame, is best-known for his two-decade run as the lead announcer on CBS’ race coverage.

Squier, who gave the “Great American Race” nickname to the Daytona 500, called races for the CBS and TBS networks until from 1979-97 before shifting to a role as studio host. Squier, 78, still make special television appearances, mainly on the SPEED network.

Hall, a 2007 NMPA Hall of Fame inductee, began his career in the 1950s working at local radio stations in North Carolina.

He served as Bristol Motor Speedway’s first public address announcer when the track opened.

He called his first Daytona 500 in 1960, and joined the Motor Racing Network at its inception in 1970. He worked first as a turn announcer and then moved to the broadcast booth in the late 1970s where he has been a fixture ever since.

Recommended for You

    Johnson City Press Videos