no avatar

Members of ETSU task force announced

staff reports • Oct 5, 2012 at 5:23 PM

East Tennessee State has released the names of task force members who will be taking a detailed look at university athletics over the next two months.

The 15-member list released Friday includes five persons from the community, four from the faculty, four from staff/administration and two students. Ken Bailey, a Greene County judge, chairs the task force, and athletic director Dave Mullins is the staff resource member.

From the community are:

— Ray Flynn, owner of Flynn Sports Agency, former distance runner at ETSU who went on to become an Olympian;

— Jerry Robertson, former ETSU trainer, president of the Buc Football & Friends Foundation;

— Matt Wilhjelm, Free Service Tire Co., former ETSU quarterback;

— Joe Grandy, Ferguson Enterprises, Washington County commissioner, former BASA president;

— Adam Hall, Ryder Trucks, sports reporting/writer.

Faculty members are:

— Jim Bitter, professor, Counseling & Human Services;

— Russell Brown, professor, Psychology;

— Lorianne Mitchell, assistant professor, Management and Marketing;

— Emmett Essin, professor, History.

From the ETSU staff/adminstration are:

— Murry Bartow, men’s basketball coach;

— Lindsey Devine, women’s volleyball coach;

— Brian Johnston, associate athletics director, sports medicine;

— Meg Stone, director of the ETSU Center of Excellence for Sport Science and Coach Education (CESSCE), director of the ETSU Olympic training site, two-time Olympian.

The students are SGA vice president Leah Tilson and nominee Robby Vance.

The task force met for the first time on Monday and broke into four subcommittees to take a closer look at university athletics. Bailey said president Brian Noland wants to have all recommendations in hand by early December.

The task force, under the umbrella of the Committee for 125, will meet again on Oct. 19.

Recommended for You

    Johnson City Press Videos