no avatar

UPDATE: Lunceford unofficially beats Mathes by 68 votes in Carter County sheriff's race

Staff Report • May 6, 2014 at 10:07 PM

The unofficial results are as follows:


In the mayor's race, Leon Humphrey garnered 5,076 of those votes while his opponent, Joel Street Jr. recorded 4,191 votes.


In the sheriff's race, Dexter Lunceford defeated incumbent Chris Mathes by 68 votes, 4,699 to 4,767.

Circuit Court Clerk

In the Circuit Court Clerk race, Johnny Blankenship won the contest, which included four contenders.

Blankenship received 3,169 votes. Donna McKinney is close behind with 2,344 votes with Frank Peters right on her heels with 2,207 votes. Tammy Kyviakidis garnered 1,297 votes during the early voting period.

Highway Department Superintendent

In the race to become the new leader of Carter County's highway department, Roger Colbaugh was victorious, receiving 3,218 of the votes cast.

Jason Shell received 2,780 votes; Hubert Lewis received 1,051 votes; Ricky Guinn garnered 1,468 votes; and Steven Pierce received 650 votes.

Sessions Court Judge

Keith Bowers lead the way for the Sessions Court judgeship in Carter County after all votes were unofficially totaled. He received 5,467 votes. His competition, Jason Holly, garnered 3,984 votes.

Keep checking JohnsonCityPress.com for more details from the Carter County election.

Recommended for You

    Johnson City Press Videos