Early voting total above 2011 turnout in municipal election

Gary B. Gray • Apr 20, 2013 at 8:54 PM

When early voting ended Thursday for Johnson City’s municipal election Tuesday, 1,941 ballots were tallied, besting the 2011 mark by about 100 votes.

This number includes 1,731 people who voted at one of three locations inside Washington County, 197 absentee and nursing home votes, 12 from Carter County and one from Sullivan County (inside the city limits).

Early voting began April 3 and ended Thursday, giving voters 14 days, excluding Sundays, to participate well ahead of Tuesday’s election.

“Things did pick up the last few days, especially the last two days,” Washington County Administrator of Elections Maybell Stewart said Friday. “It seems that this typically is the way it goes with early voting. It almost always picks up at the end.”

Stewart said 124 people voted Tuesday. That number rose to 203 on Wednesday and topped out at 279 on Thursday. The final early voting numbers at the three sites are as follows: Washington County Health Department, Johnson City, 1,442; Jonesborough courthouse, 224; Gray Commons, 65.

She also reminded people that it now is too late to request an address change. She also asked that voters be aware that a photo I.D. will be required and that out-of-state I.D.s are no longer accepted.

“If your precinct is at one of the Johnson City schools, please know that they are having TCAP tests,” she said. “School officials have asked that voters do not wander around hallways or attempt to enter classrooms. The best thing to do is to go directly to the polling place.”

When the doors closed on early voting in 2011, the Washington Election Commission reported a total of 1,815 early votes cast.

There were 37,409 registered voters in Johnson City’s 2011 municipal contest, but only 4,510 votes were cast, a roughly 12 percent turnout. That number is nearly 400 higher than early voting in the 2009 municipal election and just under the total number of votes cast that year on election day.

On April 23, voters will elect two city commissioners to 4-year terms.

Candidates include Jane Myron, city commissioner and former mayor; Jenny Brock, former Johnson City Board of Education member; David Tomita, Washington County commissioner; Frank Bolus, former Washington County Commissioner; William “Bud” Hill, who ran unsuccessfully for a City Commission seat in 2011; Bart Mikitowicz, a project coordinator for Johnson City’s Glass & Concrete Contracting; and Vance Cheek Jr., former city commissioner and mayor.

Voters also will elect five Board of Education members; four will be elected to 4-year terms and one person will be elected to fill Brock’s 2-year unexpired term.

Candidates for the four seats include Incumbents Chairwoman Kathy Hall, Vice Chairman Richard Manahan and Tom Hager. Newcomers John Hunter, Kenneth “Herb” Greenlee, Jonathan Kinnick and Mahmood (Michael) Sabri also are vying for the four-year terms on the seven-member board.

Sheila Cox, who serves as the board’s secretary, will be vacating her four-year seat and seeking the unexpired two-year term. James Povlich also is running for that seat.

No precinct locations have changed since the last municipal election.

The following are the 20 precincts and number designations at which people can vote Tuesday:

- (4) Appalachian Fairgrounds, Gray; 100 Lakeview St.

- (9) Boones Creek Christian Church Fellowship Hall, Christian Church Road (across from Johnson City Power Board).

- (10) Lakeridge Elementary School, 1001 Lake Ridge Square.

- (11) Indian Trail Intermediate School, 307 Car-Mol Drive (enter from North Roan/Lambeth).

- (13) Dawn of Hope, 500 E. Oakland Ave.

- (16) Marvin’s Chapel Fellowship Hall, 1882 Old Boones Creek Road.

- (17) Towne Acres Elementary School, 2310 Larkspur Drive.

- (18) Fairmont Elementary School, 1405 Lester Harris Road.

- (23) Woodland Elementary School, 2303 Indian Ridge Road.

- (24) Henry Johnson Alternative Learning Center, 820 W. Market St.

- (25) Millennium Centre, 1216 W. State of Franklin Road (first floor, enter from garage).

- (26) North Side Elementary School, 1000 N. Roan St.

- (27) Keystone Community Center, 601 Bert St.

- (28) South Side Elementary School, 101 Southwest Ave.

- (29) Washington County Schools Resource Center, 3519 W. Walnut St.

- (30) Grace Fellowship Church, 2314 S. Greenwood Drive.

- (31) Cherokee Elementary School, 2100 Cherokee Road.

The following precincts are with the city’s corporate limits but situated in Carter County:

- Happy Valley Elementary School, 1840 Milligan Highway.

- Watauga Town Hall, Watauga, 101 S. 4th St.

In Sullivan County, the precinct is the Piney Flats Fire Station, 125 Industrial Park Road.

All precincts will be open from 8 a.m.-8 p.m. For information, contact the Washington County Election Commission, 100 E, Main St., Suite 400, Jonesborough, TN 37659, call 753-1688, fax to 753-1812 or visit www.wcecoffice.com.

Recommended for You