no avatar

Chamber elects officers for 2013; Manahan named to Hall

Staff Reports • Jan 12, 2013 at 2:42 PM

The Chamber of Commerce held its 98th Annual Membership Meeting on Friday at The Millennium Centre.

Tom Seaton, 2012 Chamber chairman and owner of The Firehouse Restaurant & Catering, handed the gavel to the 2013 chairman, Dr. Larry Calhoun, dean of East Tennessee State University’s Gatton College of Pharmacy.

“Starting out the year with an event of this magnitude, supported by the Chamber membership, is certainly a way to honor our 2013 theme ‘RX for Success: Partnerships.’ Partnerships are the building blocks for our Chamber and our community.”

Each year, a business leader is inducted into the Chamber Hall of Fame. The 35th inductee, Dr. Richard A. Manahan, ETSU’s Vice President for Advancement and President of the ETSU Foundation, was this year’s recipient. Manahan was the first recipient of the Amzi Smith award in 2010.

This year’s Chamber officers are:

n Calhoun.

n Lottie Ryans, CenturyLink, chairwoman-elect.

n Jeff Jones, Citi, treasurer/secretary.

n Tom Seaton, Firehouse Restaurant & Catering, immediate past chairman.

n Gary Mabrey, Chamber of Commerce, president/CEO.

Other members include Tembra Aldridge, The Mall at Johnson City; Tim Burchfield, Chick-Fil-A; Joe Carr, Bank of Tennessee; Mike Elbers, KatzAmericas; Larry England, Cartridge World; Judy Fowler-Argo, Veterans Affairs Medical Center; Dr. Janice Gilliam, Northeast State Community College; Candace Jennings, Mountain States Health Alliance; Jerome Julian, TriSummit Bank; Mark Kinser, General Shale; Dave McAuley, Summit Leadership Foundation; Dr. Brian Noland, ETSU; Kelly Price, Eastman Credit Union; Dave Quick, United Healthcare; and Grant Summers, Summers Taylor Inc.

One-year appointees include Steven Bales, Courtyard by Marriott; Jerry Caldwell, Bristol Motor Speedway; Dr. Bill Greer, Milligan College; CeeFee McCord, Eastman Chemical Co.; Carolyn Pierson-Cook, Absolute Communications Inc.; Neil Poland, Mullican Flooring; Phil Scharfstein, One Stop Wines & Liquors; and Tim Swecker, Pepsi.

Washington County Mayor Dan Eldridge serves in a dual role as a Chamber board member and chairman of the Johnson City-Jonesborough-Washington County Economic Development board. Vince Hickam, TriSummit Bank, is the chairman of the Johnson City-Jonesborough-Washington County Chamber Foundation. Robert Reynolds, Washington County Economic Development Council, serves as an ex-officio member, as do Hank Carr, chairman of the WCEDC, and Logan McCabe, chairman of the Johnson City Development Authority. Chad Whitfield, Hunter, Smith & Davis, will serve as the Chamber’s general counsel. Scott Folsom, TruPoint Bank, and Dr. Linda Garceau, ETSU College of Business & Technology, have completed their terms on the board.

Recommended for You

    Johnson City Press Videos