no avatar

Wolfe, Countermine, Dickson win Jonesborough BMA seats

Staff reports • Nov 6, 2012 at 10:01 PM

In uncontested races for three open seats on the Jonesborough Board of Mayor and Aldermen, voters returned Mayor Kelly Wolfe and Alderman Terry Countermine to office and elected Adam Dickson to fill the alderman seat currently held by Jerome Fitzgerald, who did not seek another term.

Wolfe received 1,563 votes. Dickson drew 1,362 votes. Countermine garnered 1,304 votes.

Following next week’s certification of the election results, Wolfe will begin his third two-year term as mayor. Countermine will return for a fourth four-year term as alderman. And Dickson will begin his first four-year term in the alderman seat held by Fitzgerald for the past 16 years.

“Being unopposed is not something that any of us will take for granted,” Wolfe said Tuesday. “We will just keep working hard on trying our best to get things done for the people of Jonesborough.”

The current board is scheduled to conduct its final meeting Monday. A special meeting will be called to swear in Tuesday’s winners as soon the election results are certified.

Recommended for You

    Johnson City Press Videos